Quick Lit // August 2015

I have not read too much since giving birth last month, but what I have read has been really good.

watershipWatership Down by Richard Adams ★★★★☆
A story about the adventures of rabbits. It’s not the most gripping premise, and I’ve avoided reading Watership Down for several years because of it. More’s the pity! This book is rich in characters, high in courage and full of delight. Richard Adams is a compelling storyteller with an eye for natural detail and lovely imagery, not to mention gripping accounts of escape from peril. A little snippet: “Now as he continued to meet the eyes of this unaccountable enemy – the only one he had faced in all the long night’s search for bloodshed – horror came upon him and he was filled with a sudden fear of his words, gentle and inexorable as the falling of bitter snow in a land without refuge.”


narnianThe Narnian: The Life and Imagination of C.S. Lewis by Alan Jacobs ★★★★☆
When C.S. Lewis reflected on when he’d been an atheist, he wrote, “On the one side a many-islanded sea of poetry and myth; on the other a glib and shallow ‘rationalism.’ Nearly all that I loved I believed to be imaginary; nearly all that I believed to be real I though grim and meaningless.” This biography is fascinating because it tells the story of Lewis’s life through the lens of his love of story (I suppose the title gives it away). Jacobs writes, “he became a Christian not through accepting a particular set of arguments but through learning to read a story the right way.” I find this so interesting! Personally, I’ve long admired C.S. Lewis for his mind. He defended the gospel very ably in Mere Christianity and his well-articulated thoughts on education left me longing for a classical education as a teenager and have encouraged my husband and I to provide a classical education for our children via homeschooling. But it was refreshing to have my conception of Lewis shuffled, to realize that his mind is first rooted in the Word.


11:22:6311/22/63 by Stephen King (Did Not Finish)
I started reading 11/22/63 just before Alice was born, and it immediately gripped me. A man’s friend tells him about a secret portal to the past, to one specific day in the past. But he tells him because he wants this man to go back in time and save the life of John F. Kennedy. There is this edge of suspense in the book that keeps growing; it formed a knot in my stomach that also kept growing. That was all well and good while I was pregnant, but I could not stand the suspense once I’d given birth. Plus, the swearing and blasphemy is profuse, to the point where I had to set the book aside.

I’m linking up with Modern Mrs. Darcy today for Quick Lit. Head on over there to read more brief book reviews and add to your reading list!

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Kindly share them here.

