Quick Lit // April 2015

PeacePeace Like a River by Leif Enger ★★★★☆– a quiet, beautifully told story of fatherhood, character and courage. This novel reminded me a lot of To Kill a Mockingbird, actually, as both involve a principled father, precocious daughter and older brother all caught up in a story of (in)justice. Swede is just as winsome as Scout; I loved her marvellous outlaw poetry and hearty appreciation of a fine turn of phrase.


FoodIt Starts With Food by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig ★★★★☆ – if you’ve been on the internet at all this past year, you’ve likely heard of the Whole 30. You know, where you cut out dairy, grains, alcohol and added sugar for 30 days? Sounds delightful, right? 🙂 My husband and I are on Day 29 and it was useful to read this book first as it gives a thorough rationale for the Whole30 program. Scientific and practical.


KimballThe Rape of the Masters: How Political Correctness Sabotages Art by Roger Kimball ★★★★☆- A scathing, often hilarious critique of the absurd flights of fancy that make up much of modern art criticism. Roger Kimball introduces the reader to several artists (Sargent, Van Gogh, Velazquez, among others) and to bizarre contemporary interpretations of their paintings. Straightforward, insightful and totally worth your while.


You Can StillYou Can Still Wear Cute Shoes by Lisa McKay ★★★☆☆- a light-hearted and practical how-to book for pastor’s wives. A group of fellow seminary wives and I read and discussed this book over several months. Not really my style (I’d have preferred something deeper), but there were some helpful pointers like: when moving, set up your child’s room first so that they feel settled.


Stuart LittleStuart Little by EB White ★★1/2☆☆- I read this with my 3-year old who didn’t seem to mind that it was more of a series of unrelated events than a cohesive story. He found it quite amusing, actually. But, being six months pregnant, I found the story of a woman giving birth to a two-inch boy that resembles a mouse downright shuddersome.

 


maisieMaisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspear ★★★☆☆ – I’ve been in a reading funk this month; I started reading five or six books, but ended up tossing them all aside. I just couldn’t get interested! Then I picked up this one, the first in a series of mystery novels featuring Maisie Dobbs, Psychologist and Private Investigator and finished it in two days. It’s oh-so-readable – and yet left me feeling a little cold, like the characters were just a bit too starchy and careful to properly befriend.


I’m linking up with Anne of Modern Mrs. Darcy for her monthly Quick Lit feature. Head on over there to read more short and sweet book reviews.

7 thoughts on “Quick Lit // April 2015

  1. Jeannie says:

    Peace Like a River is wonderful. Our book club did it several years ago and had such a good discussion.

    I had to laugh at your comments on Stuart Little! 🙂 I just love the final chapter about travelling north. It seems like a beautiful commentary on life.

  2. Heidi @ A Lively Hope says:

    Yes, Stuart Little is pretty strange. His adventures are fun to read about, but why is it totally fine that a woman gave birth to a mouse? At least in the movie Stuart is adopted :). I’ve never heard of Maisie Dobbs, but it looks great! I just requested it from the library.

  3. Anne says:

    Ah, you read Peace Like a River! Wasn’t Swede something else? I can also relate to your reading funk. It’s feels so restless to not settle into a good book.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Kindly share them here.

