Top Ten Tuesday: Inspiring Quotes from Books

I’m linking up with the Broke and the Bookish again for Top Ten Tuesday; this week’s meme is Inspiring Quotes from Books – which actually made me realize that my commonplace book is full of poetry quotes, but only a few quotes from books. Will have to rectify that!

Elizabeth-keira-knightley-as-elizabeth-bennet-10470753-1250-811

“Pleased with the preference of one, and offended by the neglect of the other, on the very beginning of our acquaintance, I have courted prepossession and ignorance, and driven reason away, where either were concerned. Till this moment, I never knew myself.”
– Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice


jane eyre

“I sometimes have a queer feeling with regard to you–especially when you are near me, as now: it is as if I had a string somewhere under my left ribs, tightly and inextricably knotted to a similar string situated in the corresponding quarter of your little frame. And if that boisterous Channel, and two hundred miles or so of land come broad between us, I am afraid that cord of communion will be snapt; and then I’ve a nervous notion I should take to bleeding inwardly.”
– Charlotte Bronte, Jane Eyre


george eliot

“There are few prophets in the world; few sublimely beautiful women; few heroes. I can’t afford to give all my love and reverence to such rarities: I want a great deal of those feelings for my everyday fellow-men, especially for the few in the foreground of the great multitude, whose faces I know, whose hands I touch, for whom I have to make way with kindly courtesy.”
– George Eliot, Adam Bede


North-and-South-north-and-south-32024179-1920-1080

“‘The way of humility. Ah,’ thought Margaret, ‘that is what I have missed! But courage, little heart. We will turn back and by God’s help we may find the lost path.'”
– Elizabeth Gaskell, North and South


77262

“Emelina and I just took each other in. All morning I’d felt the strange disjuncture that comes from reconnecting with your past. There’s such a gulf between yourself and who you were then, but people speak to that other person and it answers; it’s like having a stranger as a house guest in your skin.”
– Barbara Kingsolver, Animal Dreams


aslan pic

“At the name of Aslan each one of the children felt something jump in its inside. Edmund felt a sensation of mysterious horror. Peter felt suddenly brave and adventurous. Susan felt as if some delicious smell or some delightful strain of music had just floated by her. And Lucy got the feeling you have when you wake up in the morning and realize that it is the beginning of the holidays or the beginning of summer.”
– CS Lewis, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe


lavender

“Everything had changed. Anne felt that she would be glad when the summer was over and she was away at work again. Perhaps life would not seem so empty then.
‘I’ve tried the world – it wears no more
The colouring of romance it wore’

sighed Anne – and was straightaway much comforted by the romance in the idea of the world being denuded of romance!
– LM Montgomery, Anne of the Island


jean webster

“Did you ever hear of such a discouraging series of events? It isn’t the big troubles in life that require character. Anybody can rise to a crisis and face a crushing tragedy with courage, but to meet the petty hazards of the day with a laugh – I really think that requires spirit.”
Jean Webster, Daddy Long Legs

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Inspiring Quotes from Books

    • arenda says:

      Oh, if I may be so bold – give George Eliot a try! Her writing makes you wonder that a person can be so insightful about the hearts of her characters.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Kindly share them here.

