Thoughts to Savour

There have been some wonderfully thought-provoking articles out there on the internet lately. Here are a few I really enjoyed:

MOVIES
I can’t remember the last time we went to see a movie in theatre, but these two reviews of Disney’s Cinderella make me think it’d be worthwhile to take my daughter if she were a little older (she’s just 16 months old).
Maleficent vs. Cinderella and the Heroes We Give Our Children: “I am, frankly, astounded that a movie as full of goodness and self-sacrifice, and truth and beauty even exists.”
Charity Has Power and How Disney Didn’t Ruin Cinderella: “And what Cinderella ends up being is a beautiful examination of the strength of virtue–a very unmodern theme.”

ART
Hospitality and the Holy Imagination: this is quite a fascinating look at art from the perspective of hospitality. Yeah, I wondered about that intersection, too, but Zach Franzen explains his idea that artists shouldn’t be self-seeking in a clear and compelling way.

READING
Why Fairy Tales are Dangerous: two wonderful reasons to read fairy tales to your children.

WRITING
An Honest Pen: a short but provocative quote from Anthony Esolen on writing well.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts to Savour

  1. Ruth @ A Great Book Study says:

    Loved that article about fairy tales. Mary Shelley – would you believe it! – was raised on fairy tales. Albert Einstein was a huge supporter of reading fairy tales to children. G.K. Chesterton, too! And I see the results in my own children what happens when they read fairy tales.

    • arenda says:

      I loved that article, too! I had no idea Mary Shelley or Albert Einstein were supporters of reading fairy tales to children. One of my favourite quotes (about fairy tales, that is) is from GK Chesterton, who said – “The baby has known the dragon intimately ever since he had an imagination. What the fairy tale provides for him is a St. George to kill the dragon.” I have found that so true for our kids!

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Kindly share them here.

