Blind Date With a Book

My experience with blind dates is limited. Really limited. As in, one time my husband and I set up mutual friends (I’ll call them Rod and Lucy). We arranged for them to meet in the greeting card aisle of Walmart, where Rod was holding a certain flower as a signal (“I’m your date!”). We’d given them a little package beforehand that they opened together to find out where they were going and how they’d be spending their evening.

Rod and Lucy went mini golfing, then out for dinner to a combined Italian eatery/gelato shop. And . . . the date was ho-hum, no sparks flew and they didn’t see each other again. Blind date fail.

So, I was both intrigued and wary when I popped in to our local library the other day and noticed a Valentine’s Day-related feature on right now called Blind Date with a Book. There’s a whole shelf of individually wrapped books looking all pretty in pink and red wrapping paper. The idea is, you choose package, take it home and unwrap the surprise, and read a book you might otherwise never have ‘met.’

I spent some time perusing the shelf, trying to guess which book looked the most promising.  A heavy hard-cover?  A slim paperback?  I ended up choosing a smaller, chunky book thinking ‘maybe it’ll be a classic??’

Life Lately-6

So here’s what I found when I unwrapped my book:

Life Lately-8

First impressions?  Kinda like walking up the greeting card aisle and seeing a short guy wearing a football jersey taking care of a wedgie.  Yeah, not my type.  This is a novel about an arsonist on the loose in rural Norway, and . . . pyromaniacs don’t really light my fire, the title is awfully grim, and there doesn’t seem to be much chance there’s a love story wedged inside there.  And the book has a 3.42 rating on GoodReads.  Altogether unpromising.

But I’m going to give it a try.  And I’ll let you know how this ‘date’ turns out . . . 🙂

Have you gone on any ‘blind dates’ with books?  How’d they turn out?

7 thoughts on “Blind Date With a Book

  1. Krysta says:

    I’ve seen people do this before, but I’ve never participated because I’m afraid of receiving a truly terrible book. Or one with an immoral love affair or one filled with unnecessary scenes, shall we say. I know it’s supposed to be fun and adventurous, but in the end I would just rather read a book that I’m relatively certain I’ll enjoy, rather than jump blindly into one recommended by someone else.

    • arendadehaan says:

      You know, I totally understand that. And looking back, I’d much rather plunge into a book I’ve chosen myself than one that randomly ends up on my shelf . . . I don’t think I’ll be doing this again. 🙂

      • Krysta says:

        I am impressed that you took that plunge, though! And there was always the possibility that you could have ended up with something wonderful. 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Kindly share them here.

