Top Ten Books I Want To Read

ABC

1. At the Back of the North Wind by George MacDonald – a Victorian fairy tale about a young boy and a beautiful woman who personifies the North Wind. I really enjoyed The Princess and the Goblin last year and would like to read more by GM.

2. Burial Rites by Hannah Kent – a fellow book-clubber highly recommended this debut novel about an Icelandic woman charged with murder.

3. Clarissa by Samuel Richardson – an epistolary love story written in the 18th century; it has the dubious distinction of being one of the longest novels ever written . . . but if the writing is excellent, perhaps that’ll be a delight?

Cold Mary

4. Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons – any time a review notes the writing has the “comic aplomb of Evelyn Waugh” I take notice. This is a story of a young woman going to live with relatives at Cold Comfort Farm, where cows are named Feckless, Aimless, Pointless and Graceless. Sounds rather droll!

5. Kristin Lavransdatter by Sigrid Undset – a long character-driven story set in medieval Norway. Sounds delicious!

6. Mary Barton by Elizabeth Gaskell – I enjoyed North & South, and so have been contemplating reading another novel by Elizabeth Gaskell. This one looks interesting.

peace mill

7. The Mill on the Floss by George Eliot – George Eliot creates beautiful and believable characters, and there’s nothing I love more than a well-crafted character-driven novel. I read Adam Bede in January and loved it, so I’m looking forward to reading more GE novels.

8. Peace Like a River by Leif Enger – I’ve been thinking about reading this book for about a year as it’s listed as many book bloggers favourite novel, and a recent post by Anne in which she said, “I don’t know if I’ve found a more lovable girl than Swede since Anne Shirley” made me want to read it all the more!

9. The Sea of Tranquility by Katya MillayModern Mrs. Darcy describes this YA novel as unputdownable and one of her favourite books of 2014.

10. The Story Girl by L.M. Montgomery – I read most of L.M. Montgomery’s novels last year but missed this one. I love her bubbly, tender stories of love and friendship.

I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish again for Top Ten Tuesdays.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Want To Read

  1. Krysta says:

    I admit The Story Girl is not one of my favorites when it comes to Montgomery. The characters just don’t strike me as having the same development as some of her others. Still, reading Montgomery is always a treat.

    • arendadehaan says:

      I think I’ve refrained reading it because it’s the story of Sara, Felix and Felicity from Road to Avonlea (did you watch that television series as a kid?). I thought it’d probably be familiar . . . It’s disappointing to hear you didn’t love it (although, interestingly, it’s said to be LM Montgomery’s personal favourite).

      • Krysta says:

        If I recall, the book is actually nothing like the television series, so you might be surprised. I think this book is just different because it’s told from the perspective of one of the boys, so maybe he doesn’t convey everything about the Story Girl that an omniscient narrator would, for example. I just didn’t connect with the characters as much for some reason, though it’s interesting that Montgomery particularly liked it.

  2. ht35 says:

    We’ve done Peace Like a River in book club too. That’s one book that I knew from the first page that there was nothing the author could do that would make me dislike the book (does that even make sense?). I hope Burial Rites doesn’t disappoint! I may not be as much of a discriminating reader as you are.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Kindly share them here.

