February

It’s February already, and we’re sitting under 40 cm of freshly fallen snow here in southern Ontario. I love snug and cozy days like this, days where we stay at home and drink hot chocolate, read books and feel protected from the harsh cold of winter.

Feb

The beginning of February also reminds me of my three reading goals for 2015. Here’s how things are looking so far:

1. My first goal was to read ten classics from the Top 100 Novels of All Time. I’ve read two of the ten so far, Adam Bede by George Eliot and Oscar and Lucinda by Peter Carey. Adam Bede was simply splendid, a thoughtful, character-driven novel with beautiful reflections on life. I loved it. Oscar and Lucinda is billed as a dramatic love story – and it was, sort of. More thoughts on this one to come. Next up: Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf.

2. My second goal was to read a handful of non-fiction books I’ve received as gifts and haven’t completed. I’m half-way through Rape of the Masters: How Political Correctness Sabotages Art by Roger Kimball and it’s laugh-out-loud funny (in a ‘this is so preposterous it can’t be true – do people actually think like this??!’ kind of way).

3. And my third goal was to read one canto a day of Dante’s Divine Comedy. I’ve read 22 cantos so far and the book is fascinating, gruesome and very, very thought-provoking.

One thought on “February

  1. Jeremy de Haan says:

    Since assigned school readings fill most of my schedule, it’s hard to squeeze in my own. Still, there are snippets of time every so often during which I hope to read more of the following:

    The Collected Stories of Sherlock Holmes, by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
    Religion and the Rise of Western Culture, by Christopher Dawson
    A Conflict of Visions, by Thomas Sowell
    The Everlasting Man, by G.K. Chesterton
    Moby Dick, by Herman Melville

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Kindly share them here.

