Top Ten Books I’d Like to Read With My Book Club

I love being a part of a book club; there are few things more enjoyable than delving into the meat of a book with literary-minded friends. Here’s my list of ten books I’d love to discuss:

Collage One

Books I’ve Read/Am Currently Reading:
1. The Divine Comedy by Dante – I’m currently half-way through The Inferno and find the vivid imagery so striking (and gruesome!). I’d love to explore the book in more depth.
2. Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell – when I finished reading GWTW last year, I was so full of riotous emotions I just had to talk to someone about it! My husband ended up patiently listening my thoughts, but a book club would have been the perfect forum for all that venting.
3. Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe – while movies (Cast Away) and reality TV shows (Survivor) focus mostly on physical survival, Robinson Crusoe uses his desertion as a means to plumb the depths of his spiritual life. Utterly compelling.
4. Gaudy Night by Dorothy Sayers – I finished reading this book last week and while the mystery really bored me, I was fascinated by slowly developing relationship between Lord Peter Wimsey and Harriet Vane – so much intellectual headache involved! I’d love to hear what others think . . .

Collage Two

Books I Haven’t Yet Read:
5. Morte d’Arthur by Sir Thomas Mallory or The Once and Future King by T.H. White – we’ve started reading our son some Arthurian stories (he loves The Kitchen Knight by Margaret Hodges) and I’d love to have a deeper knowledge of the legends myself.
6. The Mill on the Floss or Silas Marner by George Eliot – I finished Adam Bede earlier this month and was blown away by George Eliot’s beautiful and believable characters. I’d love to read more of her novels!
7. The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger – Sarah Mackenzie describes this as a broken story in which “good is good, bad is bad, and bad wins.” Sounds like the perfect book to read carefully and discuss thoroughly!
8. Any book by Marilynne Robinson (Housekeeping, Gilead, Lila) – I’ve heard so many wonderful things about Marilynne Robinson’s writing that I feel sure her books would be excellent for book club.
9. Kristin Lavransdatter by Sigrid Undset – a really, really long character-driven story set in medieval Norway. Absolutely up my alley!
10. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr – this was listed as a favourite book of 2014 by so many bloggers. My curiosity is piqued. πŸ™‚

I’m linking up with The Broke & the Bookish today for Top Ten Tuesday (in which every every week a new Top Ten list is posted).

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’d Like to Read With My Book Club

  1. Brandy says:

    Gaudy Night is on my list too! *high five*

    There’s just so much in that book about gender norms and roles, balancing family and career, feminism, and so many issues that haven’t changed as much as they should have since then. And there is also the historical perspective on the rise of Hitler and eugenics. All that on top of being and excellent mystery and swoon worthy.

    Some of the books on here I’ve taught in the past, but there are several I would still love to read too.

  2. Ruth @ A Great Book Study says:

    Great list. I was blown away w/ GWTW. I agree: it is not a book to just keep to one’s self. Of course, Robinson Crusoe was amazing and deep. Several of these others are on my TBR list. And how interesting that Catch 22 would be considered broken; but I took away a very innocent moral from the story. I’m going to read your link to see what she means.

  3. Krysta says:

    I realized that the Inferno is the most famous part of the Divine Comedy, but I really like Puragatorio and Paradiso even more! I’d love to hear what you think when you’re through.

    As for Gone with the Wind, I have to admit that I started reading it years ago, was bored, and stopped. And, honestly, I can’t stand Scarlett. I’ve seen the movie often enough so I know how it ends and I just couldn’t bear to read about a protagonist so selfish and disagreeable only to see her life ruined at the end because she wouldn’t change.

    • arendadehaan says:

      I’m really looking forward to reading Purgatorio and Paradiso; I think it can be hard for writers to make what is good seem interesting and appealing (often it just ends up boring). I imagine Dante wouldn’t have that problem. πŸ™‚

      And I know what you mean about Scarlett – she’s not an appealing character because of her selfishness. But I still found it fascinating how it was small choices in her life (not being kind to her servants one day, not being patient with her son the next) that ended up ruining her character. She recognized virtue when she saw it, but kept putting it off till tomorrow – but of course that day never came.

  4. ht35 says:

    We read Gilead in the early days of the book club (and I’m making my way through Home and Lila right now). I can’t remember if I have picked The Mill on the Floss or just think I should have picked it, as it is one of my all-time-favourites. We have read Gone With the Wind fairly recently, but I must confess a found it a bit tedious in parts (sorry!). Clearly you should have joined our book club long ago!! πŸ˜‰

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Kindly share them here.

