2015 Reading Goals

Well, well, well!  Here we are at the end of 2014 and I’m spending a bit of time contemplating the year ahead, setting goals to shape the coming 365 days. My husband and I are expecting baby #3 in July, so I’m tempering my reading plans, keeping them modest.

Collage 2015

My three goals for 2015 are:

1. To read ten classics from the Top 100 Novels of All Time. Many of the books I’ve read on the list so far have been by familiar authors (Charlotte Bronte, Jane Austen, Charles Dickens), so over half of the books I chose are by authors whose works I’ve never read (or possibly even heard of) before.

  • Clarissa by Samuel Richardson
  • Nightmare Abbey by Thomas Love Peacock
  • Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert
  • Adam Bede by George Eliot (The Guardian lists Daniel Deronda, but I’ve already watched the BBC version, and have read Middlemarch, so I’m going with Adam Bede instead, which was included in a wonderful list of Five Secular Books That Changed My Life over on The Christian Pundit.)
  • Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf
  • Journey to the End of the Night by Louis-Ferdinand Celine
  • Wise Blood by Flannery O’Connor
  • The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie by Muriel Spark
  • If on a Winter’s Night a Traveller by Italo Calvino
  • Oscar and Lucinda by Peter Carey

2. To read a handful of non-fiction books I’ve received as gifts and haven’t completed. I’m much more partial to fiction than non-fiction, but I’d like to push myself to finish these books that are just sitting there on my shelf, waiting to be read:

  • Rape of the Masters: How Political Correctness Sabotages Art by Roger Kimball
  • Making Room: Recovering Hospitality as a Christian Tradition by Christine Pohl
  • A Sane Woman’s Guide to Raising a Large Family by Mary Ostyn
  • Ten Ways to Destroy the Imagination of Your Child by Anthony Esolen
  • Booked: Literature in the Soul of Me by Karen Swallow Prior

3. To read one canto a day of Dante’s Divine Comedy. I’ve been wanting to complete the Divine Comedy for ages, but I don’t have the same patience for poetry as I do for fiction. There are 99 cantos in total, so by aiming for a manageable goal of one per day I’ll have completed the book by mid-April.

One thought on “2015 Reading Goals

  1. Anna says:

    ALL of those non-fiction ones sound fascinating! And I also have “If on a Winter’s Night a Traveller” on my list…we’ll see if this is the year it happens 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Kindly share them here.

