Top Ten Favourites of 2014

Collage 2014 Reads

  1. Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell –  I was hooked right from the beginning of Gone with the Wind; it’s both immensely readable and moving without sacrificing depth of character. It gave me a literary hangover – I languished for days after finishing it, heartsick – but it was so, so good.
  2. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte (reread) – my favourite novel of all time (thought I’m putting in second place here because of the wild experience it was reading Gone With the Wind).  Jane might be unassuming in appearance, yet her spirit is so alive! I love Jane’s spirited conversations with Mr. Rochester, and I greatly admire her moral fortitude.
  3. Emma by Jane Austen (reread) – the perfect blend of love, family problems and social commentary, all delivered with a wittiness that makes you think Jane Austen was chuckling to herself whilst writing this fine story.
  4. Pat of Silver Bush by L.M. Montgomery – the story of a young girl who can’t bear change growing up. I loved the many neighbourhood tales told by Pat’s housekeeper, Judy, and the way Pat’s heart slowly opens up to new experiences.  It’s a sweet and tender story.
  5. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery (reread) –  I’ve read and re-read Anne of Green Gables many times already, but it’s just as lovely and stirring the tenth or twelfth time as it was the first.  I love Anne, her penchant for large words and her delightful capacity for appreciating beauty – not to mention her amusing misadventures.
  6. Emily of New Moon by L.M. Montgomery – What can I say, I love Emily almost as much as I love Anne!  She takes the same tender delight in the things of the earth (anthropomorphizing everything in sight), and she’s bright, engaging and charming.  Wonderful read.
  7. Emily Climbs by L.M. Montgomery – I enjoyed the second book in the Emily series just as much as the first.
  8. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott –  started off a little preachy and starchy, but blossomed into a wonderful coming-of-age story replete with absolutely lovely characters and friendships.  Definitely a story to read with my infant daughter in ten years!
  9. Daddy Long Legs by Jean Webster –  a novel of letters between a lively orphan and her mysterious benefactor.  Spunky, charming and so very readable. (And nothing to do with the insect, in case you were wondering.)  Devoured it in one evening and really, really enjoyed it.
  10. Dear Mr. Knightley by Katherine Reay – despite the title, which makes you think the book is a spin-off of Emma, this is actually a modern retelling of Daddy Long Legs. I stayed up till the wee hours of the morning finishing this book – so yes, it’s captivating and entertaining. The parts where it veered from the original were unsatisfying, though.

I’m linking up with Modern Mrs. Darcy for other favourite books of the year; head on over to find more books to put on your wish list! 🙂

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Favourites of 2014

  1. Marianne says:

    In which your favorites make me grin! I love (LOVE) seeing Gone with the Wind at the top of your list! & 8, 5, & 2 are three more of my own favorites. 🙂 Best wishes for 2015!

    • arendadehaan says:

      Hey Marianne! Ha, pleased to have made your day! 😉 When I looked back on the year, GWTW was definitely the book that both moved and troubled me most; I was happy to give it first place for that! Best for 2015 to you, too!

  2. Moira says:

    First of all I love the concept of your blog-I’ll be back for sure! I also adore Gone with the Wind, though it’s been years since I read it. I remember having the same literary hangover at the end!

  3. Krista says:

    Years and years ago I decided to read Gone With the Wind because I was sooooo sick of my college classmates’ assertions that it was their favorite book ever. So many of them were just ditzy people and some of them I’m sure picked the longest book they could think of and claimed it as their favorite. Well, I read it and I fell in LOVE. I’m sure someone of them were doing exactly as I suspected, but I’m now sure than many of them truly loved the book as much as I (and you!) did!

  4. Becca says:

    What a gorgeous list – I read Anne of Green Gables this year, too. Love it every time, but need to tackle her other books and different series. Looking forward to it!

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Kindly share them here.

