Twitterature // July 2014

Here’s what I’ve been reading this past month!

little mermaid   9780375863387_p0_v1_s260x420  little-women

The Little Mermaid by Hans Christian Andersen – A fairy tale full of wonder, longing and goodness. I suppose a comparison to the syrupy Disney movie is inevitable, which is really too bad as this story has much more depth (the little mermaid seems to longs more for immortality than the love of a certain comely prince).  This version has lovely illustrations, too.

The Princess and the Goblin by George MacDonald – I loved this sweet story! It’s replete with humour, courage and a few touches of the exquisite. I’m looking forward to reading it out loud to my little ones when they’re older.

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott – started off a little preachy and starchy, but blossomed into a wonderful coming-of-age story replete with absolutely lovely characters and friendships.  Definitely a story to read with my infant daughter in ten years!

6a00e550ae2fdc88340176162529b0970c  Evelyn Waugh's Brideshead Revisited first book cover photo  353-the-luminaries-cover-300x0

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn – If there was ever a book that exemplifies the modern penchant for “is rather than ought” (my husband’s phrase) in literature, this book is it. Forget about contemplating something true or beautiful – this is life as base and disgusting as it can be. I’m sorry I read it. (My brain needs a shower.)

Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh – a slow, rather elegant novel of an outsider observing a family (and way of life) crumbling apart. Certainly wordier and more sumptuous than other books I’ve read by Waugh. Left me feeling unsettled.

The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton – So very well written, and yet lacking heart. Despite a delightful character or two, and the careful weaving together of a thousand intricate plot lines, I closed the book feeling let down and wondering, “So what?”

170px-84_charing_cross_first  9780142001806_custom-4b3c59584e5374809066b72f9ec67788686bd48c-s6-c30

84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff – a slim volume comprised of several decades worth of letters written between a NY writer and a British bookseller. She’s brash and funny, he’s civil and reserved. It was all right.

The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde – a spunky detective story with lots of literary inside jokes. Easy reading. Fforde creates a world that is both obsessed with great books and religiously vapid (a few people worship the Global Standard Deity) – seems incongruous to me.

 

I’m linking up with Anne of the Modern Mrs. Darcy – head over to her blog to find more itty-bitty book reviews!

12 thoughts on “Twitterature // July 2014

  1. whitneyconard says:

    i read gone girl a few months ago. i thought the way the story was structured was really good and i finished it in a couple of days. but you’re right – i felt like my brain needed a shower! i’m definitely not interested in reading anything else by her OR seeing the movie!

  2. jrdeleeuw says:

    when we were in Europe last year I was looking for ‘Gone Girl’ in a bookstore because I had read on a blog about how good it was. Seems to be a good thing I couldn’t find it 🙂

  3. laurachristine06 says:

    Hi! Just scrolling through from August’s Twitterature. I couldn’t get past the first chapter or two of Gone Girl. I don’t mind gritty novels with less-than-perfect characters but something about it seemed like a complete downer and waste of time. . . . Brideshead R. is one of my all-time favorites, possibly b/c I’m a papist and the book has so many Catholic themes. Took me three readings to realize it’s about Charles’ conversion. . . . Agree it’s so much different than most of his other books, which are so acerbic.

    • arendadehaan says:

      Hey Laura,
      It’s interesting that you mention enjoying BR in part b/c you’re Catholic. I’ve (since reading it) noticed it on several Catholic bloggers top books lists, and I can see why. I think what left me unsettled was the fact that most of the book had this languid, lingering feeling to it, while the ending was rather terse. I felt left with many ‘what next’ questions about Charles . . . b/c as much as the journey to faith is compelling, the working it out in one’s life is equally so.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Kindly share them here.

