Twitterature // May 2014

Whilst in between classic novels, I’ve indulged in a few lighter reads; here are a few tweet-sized book reviews.

gone with the wind desperate remarkable creatures Mr. Penumbra's 24 Hour Bookstore The_Goose_Girl

Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
Brilliant, insightful, lush, witty and ultimately devastating.  I adored it even though it made me heartsick.

Desperate: Hope for the Mom Who Needs to Breathe by Sarah Mae and Sally Clarkson
An encouraging and thought-provoking book on mothering with an emphasis on developing a relationship with a mom mentor.  So many of my own struggles with and questions about mothering were addressed here: fighting selfishness, making time for relationships when you’re feeling worn out, beauty and virtue in an ugly world, etc.  I highly recommend it!

Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier
The bits about paleontology were interesting enough, but for a book that’s supposedly about the friendship of two misfits, the relationships described were (ahem) remarkably stale.

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Book Store by Robin Sloane
Zero character development + tension that’s introduced, then discarded a paragraph later + a trite message = a trifecta of doom.  Ugh.  Skip this book.

The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale
I love fairy-tale retellings, but this Young Adult version disappointed.  The boring characters simply loitered about, and the magic was downright silly: what’s the use of understanding the language of animals or the wind if neither have anything interesting to say?

I’m linking up with Anne at The Modern Mrs. Darcy today; head on over to her blog to find more itty-bitty book reviews.

2 thoughts on “Twitterature // May 2014

  1. SoCalLynn says:

    I had the same thoughts about Mr. Penumbra’s…. Although to be fair, I’m don’t normally read books of the fantasy genre, which is what I would call this one. It just did nothing for me at all.

    • arendadehaan says:

      Lovely to meet someone who had the same feeling about Mr. Penumbra’s! I actually love fantasy (although, to be technical, I wouldn’t classify Mr. Penumbra’s as fantasy as nothing fantastical actually occurs), and I still didn’t care for the book. I blame the poor writing more than the genre! 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Kindly share them here.

